Sage PRO ERP Maintenance Tips and Tricks
MaintenanceDescriptionFrequency
Clear Temporary Files from WorkstationThis procedure will delete temporary files created by all programs on your hard drive.  These files take up space on your hard drive and could cause problems.  Your computer/network support person can also create a batch file that will automatically delete them every time you log in to the network.Every Week
Disk DefragmenterThis procedure will find scattered files on your hard drive and fix any problems.  This can speed up your processing.Monthly
Scan DiskThis procedure will check disk surface, files and folders for errors.Requested by Technical Support
Clear Temporary Files from PRO DirectoriesThis procedure will delete temporary files created by PRO on your hard drive.  These files take up space on your hard drive and could cause problems.Every Week
Clear Mem Files from PRO DirectoriesThis procedure will delete all mem files created by PRO on your hard drive.  Mem files are temporary files used by PRO to speed up movement within the program and are recreated if they don’t exist.Requested by Technical Support
Check available space on C: DriveThis procedure will check how much space you have available on your C: drive.  This is where your temporary files are placed.  Make sure you have plenty of free space.  The amount required varies with the size of your databases.Requested by Technical Support
Check available space on network DriveThis procedure will check how much space you have available on your network drive(s).  If you run low on disk space your processing can slow down and if you run out, your application will crash and you will lose data.Requested by Technical Support
Move CDXsThis procedure will move CDXs found in PRO to a different location on your hard drive.  CDXs are indexes PRO creates to find data more quickly.  You must recreate them after moving them.Requested by Technical Support
Delete CDXsThis procedure will delete all CDXs found in your PRO folder.  CDXs are indexes PRO creates to find data more quickly.  You must recreate them after moving them.Requested by Technical Support
Verify File Structure and IndexesThis procedure compares file characteristics (such as field names, lengths, and types) and related indexes against the data dictionary and reports any discrepancies. This is only a reporting function; file structures and indexes are not updated.Requested by Technical Support
Validate Database(Visual FoxPro tables only) This procedure checks for inconsistencies in the database and attempts to repair them.  It adds free tables to the database container and repairs broken links to files already in the database container.   It also removes files that do not belong in the database container.WARNING: Do not do this unless directed to by Technical Support.Requested by Technical Support
Update from Data DictionaryThe data dictionary stores information about data files and their indexes.  This procedure updates the structures of existing data files to match the table structures defined in the data dictionary. It also rebuilds indexes.  WARNING: Some program modifications may be adversely affected (or BROKEN) by performing Update from Data Dictionary.  If you have ANY modifications or are not sure if you have modifications, DO NOT Update from Data Dictionary without first consulting with a qualified, professional.Requested by Technical Support (someone who is aware of all your modifications.)
Check Table Integrity(Visual FoxPro tables only) In the event of a system interruption or power failure, use the Check Table Integrity feature to verify the integrity of your tables. WARNING: Using this may cause loss of data.  Do not update tables with this function unless asked to do so.Requested by Technical Support (someone who is aware of all your modifications.)
Re-indexing PRO Applications FilesRe-indexing PRO System FilesMost PRO database files have one or more related index files. These indexes enable you to find information in the database files quickly and in a variety of ways.
Indexes for each data file (table) and a description of their use are included in the data dictionary.
Sometimes indexes lose track of their pointers to related data files. When this happens, you need to re-index. Re-indexing deletes and rebuilds the index files for the database files you specify. Since it is not possible to jeopardize your database by re-indexing, the general rule is: when in doubt, re-index!
Here are some reasons you need to re-index your files:

  • You deleted some index files (those ending in .CDX).
  • You get an error message such as “Record is out of range” or “Index does not match database”.
  • You cannot find a data record, such as an inventory item, and you know you didn’t delete it.
  • You see a different record than the one you wanted.
  • You changed the structure of a table that uses an index.
  • You add or change an index in the data dictionary.

You can also use this feature to remove all records marked for deletion during the re-indexing process by selecting the Pack option.

Nightly
Clear PRO FlagsIf your system is interrupted in a way that forces users to exit without formally logging out, an administrator-level user must log in to the system and clear the user flags and file locks. Until that time, operator-level users who were forced out of the system will not be able to log back in. After restarting the system, administrator users have the option to override the system lockout to get to the flag clearing routines.
The options on the Clear Flags submenu enable you to override and reset multi-user file locks, clear user flags, close corrupted session numbers, and delete unnecessary temporary files. These functions are useful in the event program operation has been terminated prematurely.System Manager gives you flexibility in the scope of these utilities. You can choose to clear only the file locks, clear the active users, close sessions, or just delete temporary work files. You can also use the Clear All Flags option to perform all these operations at one time.
Nightly or as needed
Recalculate File Balances in PROThe Recalculate Application Balances option on the System Recovery submenu enables you to identify and resolve certain inconsistencies that may develop in your customer, vendor, or inventory balances. For example, if customer balances don’t match the amount of open invoices, you can recalculate file balances to reconcile them.
You can use this option to update any data files where discrepancies may be encountered, or simply to see a report of the discrepancies.
When you recalculate Inventory Control balances, discrepancies in on-hand quantities are not updated automatically. Discrepancies in other inventory values, such as allocated quantities, will be updated if you choose to update files during recalculation.If System Manager detects a discrepancy in on-hand quantities, it produces reports that enable you to track the discrepancy between quantities in the item master file, the item-at-location file, and the quantity file.
Requested by Technical Support
Clear FlagsWhen you log into PRO and do various processes, the program sets a flag that you are logged in and doing something.  The flag is a field entry in one or more databases.  If your computer crashes or you have an error in PRO and exit without quitting, this entry is not cleared   Clearing Flags removes the entry.  Clearing Flag, like Reindexing, never hurts.  Just make sure that you don’t clear flags for someone who is actually logged in to PRO.One important thing to understand is that clearing flags does not close the files that are open.  PRO closes these files when you exit properly.  If someone is in PRO and you clear flags, they are still working and you will not see them listed on the list of people logged in.  In addition, because your have cleared flags they may experience data corruption.  If you are trying to shut down the server and do so without checking the server for open files, you may experience significant data corruption.As needed